Ideas why this rake task isn't saving one of my models?

Newbie here working on an application that has a "Match" model and each Match can have some "Playergame" models. The rails apps is actually working, but I needed to now import some initial data from a csv file, so I built a rake task to handle the import.

The problem is that for some reason I can't seem to get "Match" to save. It doesn't throw any errors, but after I run it and I go to the ruby console and do Match.find(:all) it returns empty. The rake task can save Playergames just find and I'll see them if I do Playergame.find(:all)

In the below script below I have the Playergame additions commented out because I simply wanted to see if I can get a Match to save alone (which it doesn't)

Any help appreciated:

#striped down script

task(:cvsimport => :environment) do

FasterCSV.foreach("#{RAILS_ROOT}/hockey.csv") do |row|

rick_game = Playergame.new       steve_game = Playergame.new       match = Match.new

#set a bunch of fields reading over the row       #left out for brevity

#match.playergames << rick_game       #match.playergames << steve_game

#rick_game.save #this will save a game       #steve_game.save #this will save a game

#why is match not be saving???       match.save   end

#models...

class Match < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :playergames, :dependent => :destroy   accepts_nested_attributes_for :playergames end

class Playergame < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :match, :foreign_key => "match_id" end

I'm not sure this is what is causing your problem, but according to your models, a Match has_many Playergames, which would mean that each Playergame has a match_id, correct? However, in your script, you are saving the Playergames before the Match, meaning a match_id has not yet been created. When you do Playergame.find(:all), I'm assuming they show match_id=nil. Anyway, I'd at least try changing your script to save Match before Playergames, and see if you're still having problems...