Howto express schema in model for one to many relationship

Hi All,

I'm new to Rails and was confused on how to express a model. I appreciate any help on this. The schema is as follows -

CREATE TABLE ds (   id int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,   some_data int(11) NOT NULL,   PRIMARY KEY (`id`) ) ENGINE=InnoDB;

CREATE TABLE ps (   id int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,   some_more_data int(11) NOT NULL,   PRIMARY KEY (`id`) ) ENGINE=InnoDB;

CREATE TABLE ds_ps (   d_id int(11) NOT NULL, -- Foreign Key to ds.id   p_id int(11) NOT NULL, -- Foreign Key to ps.id   position int(11) NOT NULL ) ENGINE=InnoDB;

Question 1: The table ds_ps allows me to have a many to many relationship between ds and ps. But I want to limit it to a one d has many ps in the model. Hence through an instance of d, d.ps should give me zero or more ps which are attached to the d.id in the ds_ps table.

Currently I have achieved something like this by the following code:

class D < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :ps,     :class_name => "P",     :finder_sql => 'SELECT p.* FROM ps p JOIN ds_ps dp ' +       'ON p.id = dp.p_id AND dp.d_id = #{id} ORDER BY dp.position' end

Is this the best/recommend way to model such a requirement?

Question 2: The ds_ps table has an additional column position which I want to be available in the P instances as an variable when I navigate through them through the d instance. Like d.ps.each do |p|   puts p.position end

This will not be available when a p instance is obtained directly like p = P.find(1). p.position could be nil.

Thanks for your help.

Rahul

If you only want to model a one to many relationship, it is not necessary to have a join table. You should use a foreign key in your ps table named d_id. The models would look as follows:

class D < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :ps

class P < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to : d