How to model relationships between people?

Hi.

I’d appreciate advice and feedback, as I’m new to rails (and Ruby and mostly just a junior): am I missing something or doing it right? Are there better ways? I also have a few specific questions down the line (near the code).

I have a person and a relationship model. The idea is that I can create any kind of relationship between two people, i.e. they’re neighbors, significant others, colleagues, etc.

Some kinds of relationships such as friends, parents, and such are known and are accessible through Person, others are simply accessible via Person.relationships.

I’m using postgres as database.

The migrations.

create_people.rb

class CreatePeople < ActiveRecord::Migration[6.1]
  def change
    create_table :people do |t|
      t.string :name
      t.timestamps
    end
  end
end

(this model hasn’t been fleshed out fully, since my first objective was to make the relationships work.)

create_relationships.rb

class CreateRelationships < ActiveRecord::Migration[6.1]
  def change
    create_table :relationships do |t|
      t.integer :person_id # Person
      t.integer :with_id   # Person
      t.string :kind

t.timestamps
    end

add_index :relationships, %i[person_id kind]
    add_index :relationships, %i[person_id with_id kind], unique: true
  end
end
  1. naming advice: with_id – is there a better or railsy way of naming the other person?
  2. should I use t.reference for :person_id and :with_id?
  3. are the indexes proper, or should I do something differently?

The models.

person.rb

# frozen_string_literal: true

class Person < ApplicationRecord
  has_many :relationships
  has_many :friends, -> { where("relationships.kind": 'friend') }, through: :relationships, source: 'with'
  has_many :neighbors, -> { where("relationships.kind": 'neighbor') }, through: :relationships, source: 'with'
end