how to change Root_path after user sign in ?

I set root :to => welcome#index in routes.rb.

But I want after user successful login, set root_path to others.

FYI : i'm using Devise.

You could just have your welcome#index action redirect to another controller/action if the user is signed in.

That will work nicely for most purposes, but also means that logged-in users can't access the regular root page. Just have to be careful not to have anything they might need, *only* on there.

-Dave

It may work better the other way around, make the default root be the page for logged in user and redirect to welcome page if not logged in.

Colin

Thank you tim,dave,colin.

I get it. but find difficult to implement it. could you guy teach me how to write the function ? I'm new to ror.

Thanks.

Are you kidding me?

Suppose you need projects#index to be visible only to logged in users.

As Colin explained above, In your routes.rb put

root :to => projects#index

Devise provides you a method called authenticate_user! It checks if user is logged in, if not it redirects the user to login page. In the ProjectsController add a before_filter like this.

class HomeController < ApplicationController before_filter :authenticate_admin!

def index … end

… end

So if the user is logged in he sees the page or else he is redirected to the login page.

Gautam Pai

Follow Tim solution, Now I did.

root :to => welcome#index

class ApplicationController < ActionController::Base     before_filter :authenticate_user!, :except[:index, :show] end

In my welcome controller index   def index       if user_signed_in?         redirect_to projects_url       end    end

I would like to do like colin explained.

root :to => project#index

but how to show the welcome#index as root if user not signed in ?

Gautam Pai,Thank for reply. :slight_smile: Using ur explaination.. when user not signed in. localhost:3000 it will go to login page.