help with Json1.1.2.gem error gem_make.out ?

Hi, Could someone please point me in the right direction, I need the json gem for an apps I am working on, I’m new to RoR been working with it for around 4 weeks now and have been given a requirements list for the gems. When I try to install the json gem using "gem install json" I am getting an error saying,

ERROR: Error installing json: ERROR:Failed to build gem native extension.

C:/User../.././ruby/bin/ruby.exe extconf.rb install on creating Makefile nmake 'nmake' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

gem file will remain installed in C:/User.../.../../gems/json-1.1.2 for inspection. results logged to c:/User/.../../.../gems/json-1.1.2/ext/parser/gem_make.out

I have manually installed the gem to but this hasn’t seem to help Sorry if this is very basic but like i say im new to ROR so all help is greatly appreciated

Thanks Christopher

Hi, Could someone please point me in the right direction, I need the json gem for an apps I am working on, I'm new to RoR been working with it for around 4 weeks now and have been given a requirements list for the gems. When I try to install the json gem using "gem install
json" I am getting an error saying,

ERROR: Error installing json: ERROR:Failed to build gem native extension.

Building gems with native extensions is always a little interesting on
windows. It's not my area of expertise at all, but you'll going to
need a compiler (and the toolchain that comes with it), and that
compiler will need to match what ruby was built with, which usually
means visualc++ 6 (you can also build everything from scratch using
cygwin I believe). You may have more luck on the ruby talk list as
this is strictly a ruby problem

Fred