Help with AR design on a large (~100'sM) partition table

First, I'm a physicist, not a computer scientist. I need to store 65M rows now, with a growth rate of ~21M/year whose entries arrive daily.

The purpose of this DB is to store metadata for environmental observations for the ionosphere. Basically it's a glorified file catalogue. I need the usual: fast enough inserts, reasonable recovery, REST like access, etc. I have access to Ruby AR/AS 2.1.1, Ruby 1.8.5 and eventually MySQL 5.1.x.

I'm trying to trade some storage space and lack of normalization for simplicity of design and ease of maintenance by me. Basically, I want to partition one very large table. My PK is essentially across 3 columns: filename, md5 checksum, destination. I'd like to partition by year which is discernible by the filename and by obs_time if I can but obs_time is not currently part of the PK. If that happens, then I would have up to 40M rows in a single table though most tables would have a few million; perhaps that is too many; perhaps a table for each half year would work.

Currently, I have no foreign keys but I may want them one day.

Any help and suggestions would be really appreciated!

My schema follows. I have created a simple model off this table and I'm using these decorators: validation, and before_save and after_save to build an inventory summary (in another table not shown). I've tried this on a non-partitioned table so far awaiting the installation of MySQL 5.1.x by our IT department.

How do I go about integrating AR with a partitioned table? Can you advise a simple pattern I might follow for such a large but simple relationship?

create table `ionofiles` (

-- TODO optimize variable sizes     `id` int(15) NOT NULL auto_increment PRIMARY KEY,     `file` varchar(100) NOT NULL, -- Any valid filename without the ".~N~" backup extensions.     `md5` varchar(100) NOT NULL, -- MD5 Sum     `destination` varchar(20) NOT NULL, -- E.g. MIDS, ADIC, AFWA, SWPC, ...