getting a duplicate record with has_many and update_attributes

Please help. I've tried all i know with no results...

I have an app with a master class using has_many to another class. When I create a new record with the params showing all fields for master and the has_many class it seems to work OK. But doing an edit on the record shows two copies of the has_many class, and checking mysql shows the two copies.

class Household < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :people, :dependent => :destroy   has_one :visits, :dependent => :destroy

accepts_nested_attributes_for :people, :allow_destroy => true   accepts_nested_attributes_for :visits

end

class Person < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :household end

class HouseholdsController < ApplicationController   # GET /households   # GET /households.xml   def index     @households = Household.all

respond_to do |format|       format.html # index.html.erb       format.xml { render :xml => @households }     end   end

# GET /households/1   # GET /households/1.xml   def show     @household = Household.find(params[:id])

respond_to do |format|       format.html # show.html.erb       format.xml { render :xml => @household }     end   end

# GET /households/new   # GET /households/new.xml   def new     @household = Household.new     @household.people.build

respond_to do |format|       format.html # new.html.erb       format.xml { render :xml => @household }     end   end

# GET /households/1/edit   def edit     @today = Date.today     @household = Household.find(params[:id])     @v = Visit.find_or_create_by_household_id_and_month_and_year(:household_id => params[:id], :month => @today.month, :year => @today.year)   end