Freelancer Rates for RoR Developers

I’ve been programming PHP for 12 years, and CakePHP for 6 years - freelancing full time for most of that time.

I recently was accepted into Toptal (www.toptal.com), and unfortunately there isn’t a huge demand for CakePHP work like there was a couple of years ago.

There is a huge demand for RoR work however from what I could see!

I was curious to know what the average hourly rate was for a RoR freelancer based in Europe or America. I currently work as a CakePHP freelancer, often taking on long term projects for 15-20 hours per week. 2-3 projects at one time will full my week. I currently work remotely from Ireland.

I was just wondering if anyone has moved over from say PHP to RoR and if they have found that they are able to achieve higher hourly rates? And if so, any indication on the sort of rates that are achievable would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Depends on where you live in the US and ofcourse your level of experience, but it could be 70-90 to 100-125 to 150-200.

There is a huge demand for RoR work however from what I could see!

Yes. The past few years have been a very profitable time to be in RoR. It's been mainstream enough to have high demand, but not mainstream enough to have high supply. :wink:

I was curious to know what the average hourly rate was for a RoR freelancer based in Europe or America.