find_by_sql - ActiveRecord - Help please.

I am new to the language and trying to add a couple of simple tests on user input, followed by a DB query, then using the returned values (where the problem lies)

I first run a find_by_sql similar to this

@my_names = modelname.find_by_sql

I then check to see if NO returns via

if @my_names.size == 0

I am new to the language and trying to add a couple of simple tests on user input, followed by a DB query, then using the returned values (where the problem lies)

I first run a find_by_sql similar to this

@my_names = modelname.find_by_sql

I know this is not part of your question, but as a newcommer to rails I think it is very unlikely that you should be using find_by_sql. There are not many situations that this is necessary, there is almost certainly another way. You might like to ask about this in another thread to see if there is a better way.

I then check to see if NO returns via

if @my_names.size == 0

==================

My question is, how do I access the values that are now in the array. I seem to be able to set session variables by way of

session[:whatever] = @my_names[0].column_name etc..

but am unable to perform a if construct that looks like

if @my_names[0].column_name == "TEST VALUE"

I keep getting an undefined method error when I try to run the code. Thanks very much in advance for any assistance with this.

Show us the actual code and the full error message please. First look carefully at the error and try to interpret it, often the clue is in the message but may not be initially obvious to a newcommer.

Finally, if you have not already done so, I recommend working through a good tutorial on rails. railstutorial.org is good and is free to use online. Make sure that you use a tutorial for rails 3 and that you use exactly the right version of rails.

Colin

Hi Colin,