Dynamic drop-downs in a form_for using AJAX remote_function - Help

Hello -

I am fairly new to Ruby on Rails, but feel like I am learning quick. I have what seems to be a fairly unique issue as I cannot find much out there that describes what I'm seeing. Hopefully it's a very simple fix, and I simply can't see the forest through all the trees!

I am attempting to create 2 related drop-down lists in the same form_for, both using collection_select. On the first drop-down, I have an onChange "remote_function" call that I want to send an AJAX call to the controller and filter the list in the 2nd drop-down based on what was selected in the first. In the controller method, I then call page.replace_html to render a partial. In the partial is the "updated/filtered" 2nd collection_select drop- down list.

The remote_function works fine and calls the Controller method when the first drop-down changes. I am also able to pass the selected value to the method and filter the records returned. The problem occurs when the controller attempts to render the partial, I get the following error:

ActionView::TemplateError (undefined local variable or method `f' for #<ActionView::Base:0xb6e7b2f4>) on line #1 of app/views/listings/ _automodels.html.erb: <%= f.collection_select :model, @automodels, :model, :model, {:prompt => "-Select a Make First-"} %>

This leads me to believe that the "f" variable the rest of the fields in the form_for are using is not available to the newly-replaced "collection_select", but I'm not sure why?

If the partial contains a simple HTML <input> instead of the collection_select, the replace_html works fine.

Source code is worth 1,000 words, so here it is:

listings/new.html.erb