Custom Class Problem

Hi Jason,

I’m a novice Ruby programmer and I’ve come up against a problem which I really have no idea as to how to fix. I’m making a small Ruby/RoR web application to poll and display information from SNMP devices. The

problem I’m having is trying to poll an IP range for SNMP enabled devices. I hacked together a small method to do this using the SNMP Scanner gem/command line app as a basis ( http://snmpscan.rubyforge.org). I just modified it by throwing it into a method and have it return an array of “live” IP addresses.

In application.rb

class IPAddr

The broadcast method calculate the broadcast

address of the range (if any)

def broadcast return @addr + (IPAddr::IN4MASK - @mask_addr) end # The each_address method iterates over each address # of the ip range def each_address

(@addr..broadcast).each do |addr|
    yield _to_string(addr)
end

end end [/code]

#In network_controller.rb
>   def poll(inc_ip)
>     # Default Settings
>     timeout = 200
> 
>     mib = "sysDescr.0"
>     protocol = "2c"
>     comunity = "public"
>     verbose = false
> 
>     args = [timeout,mib,protocol,comunity]
>     live = []
> 
>     iprange = IPAddr.new
> (inc_ip)
>     threads = []
> 
>     iprange.each_address do |ip|
>       begin
>         threads << Thread.new(ip,args) do |ip,args|
>           timeout,mib,protocol,comunity = args
>           begin
>             SNMP::
> Manager.open(:Host => ip,
>                                :Community => comunity,
>                                :Port => 161,
>                                :Timeout => (timeout/1000.0)) do |man|
>               res = man.get([mib])
>               answer = res.varbind_list[0].value
>               live << "#{ip}"
>               print "#{ip}:\t#{answer}\n"
>             end
> 
>           end
>         end
> 
>       rescue
>         next
>       end
>     end
> 
>     ThreadsWait.all_waits(threads)
> 
>     return live
>   end