css.scss file changes don't do anything now

Using Rails 3.2

Finally got my app to run on Heroku --cedar I am using Blueprint so had to add config.assets.precompile += %w( blueprint/screen.css blueprint/print.css blueprint/ie.css) to environments/production to get a complete asset precompile of vendor assets. Used RAILS_ENV=production bundle exec rake assets:precompile to precompile

Now, even though the layout of the app is correct based on the current layout.css.scss file in assets/stylesheets, any modifications I make to this file are not having any effect. This is on my local server (http://0.0.0.0:3000/) - not Heroku.

I tried recompiling the assets after making changes but this did not help, and I think I only need to precompile for production. I am still learning about the asset pipeline

- any ideas why editing the stylesheet doesn't do anything. I know its probably something pretty stupid I'm missing...

Thanks

Dave Castellano

It seems that “RAILS_ENV=production bundle exec rake assets:precompile” compiles the assets production and since you are in development… try to run bundle exec rake assets:precompile without the environment to see if it works.

No, that didn't help. I would assume rails uses the uncompiled files in development env as those are the files that are edited in development (assets/stylesheets/***) The compiled files are in the public folder and not in an easily editable format. Maybe there is a cache I don't know about???

Dave Castellano wrote in post #1042404:

No, that didn't help. I would assume rails uses the uncompiled files in development env as those are the files that are edited in development (app/assets/stylesheets/***) The compiled files are in the public folder and not in an easily editable format. Maybe there is a cache I don't know about???