Creating Unique Votes

I have a rails app that uses voting. Right now I have it set up so that you can vote on a word, but it doesn't limit the number of votes. So someone can vote on the same word more than once.

How do I make it so that you can only vote once on a word. Some methods I've found online included checking for a unique ip address but that can bring problems for people at work or places with block ip addresses.

I was thinking that I would have to using session cookies or something like that. But I'm new to RoR and don't know where to start.

Here is my current code:

# CONTROLLER class VotesController < ApplicationController

def create   @word = Word.find(params[:word_id])   @word.votes.create(:user => @current_user)

respond_to do |format|     format.html { redirect_to @word }     format.js   end

end

end

# MODEL class Vote < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :word, :counter_cache => true   belongs_to :user end

# VIEWS

# Create.js.rs page.replace_html 'vote_score', "Score: #{@word.reload.votes.size}" page[:vote_score].visual_effect :highlight, :duration => 2.0 page[:vote_score].visual_effect :pulsate, :duration => 1.5, :collection => @word.votes.latest

#Edit.rjs page.replace_html 'vote_score', "Score: #{@word.votes.size}" page[:vote_score].visual_effect :highlight, :duration => 2.0 page[:vote_score].visual_effect :pulsate, :duration => 1.5

#Vote.html.erb <li><%= vote.created_at.to_formatted_s(:short) %></li>

I would appreciate some help with figuring this out.

Thanks in advance.