Creating a Controller

Hi, I'm new to ruby on rails, but let me let you know, I'm very excited about learning it. Anyway, I'm trying to create a controller through the console but something makes it not work. I am running windows vista and using Instant Rails. Firstly I open up a ruby console window, and go to the directory of my app, named training. As soon as I get there I type script/generate and it says 'script' is not recognized as an internal or external command... I also tried script/ generate say (that will be the name of the controller). That gives the same output. I've also tried: script/generate controller script/generate controller say ./script/generate controller say /script/generate controller say etc. I checked and I have the folder script, with generate inside. I'm been trying to figure this out for days, so please, any help would be deeply appreciated. If I am unclear, please say so.

Thanks in advanced for your time and help.

I'm not on windows, but I think you need to do:

ruby script/generate controller say

If you just: ruby script/generate controller

it will display a brief help of the command and options.

Thanks for the quick reply! Man I feel like a complete idiot! After looking at only one other post here I realized I was forgetting to put ruby in front of script.

Thanks again, problem solved though.

ruby script/generate controller say

You need ruby at the start of the command or windows will trow a wobly at you :slight_smile:

On windows you've got to say:

ruby script\generate blah blah blah

So-just throw a "ruby " on the front there & you should be good.