configuration to set username optional during signup

Hello,

I am quite new to rails and I am implementing authlogic as authentication system in my first project.

I want to have username optional during signup, is there any configuration options to set this?

I just want to have email & password during signup…

Thanks, Madhu

Leaving aside all the Ruby, Rails, authlogic, and so forth questions... I advise you not to do this. It means you're using email addresses as the primary person-identifier (as opposed to ID in the database, which I ass-u-me will be numeric). That's perfectly fine from a technical point of view, but not for user convenience.

People often have multiple email addresses. People change email addresses, for numerous reasons. People leave sites for a long time, try to come back, and forget what email address they used when they signed up. Been there, done that, couldn't log in to get the T-shirt.

But they usually have a preferred username. (Maybe two, one for places that insist on "real" names and one for everything else. Plus maybe variations, if someone beat them to their preferred name, or some benighted site insists on very short usernames.) They may go away for a while and come back, and their "old" user ID will be obvious to them, at least after a small number of tries.

Also, before people know your site well enough to trust it, they may be reluctant to reveal an email address. They will probably not, however, have any problems telling you what username they want to use.

-Dave

I'd suggest the OP research this point, then, because my personal opinion is diametrically (and vehemently) opposed to yours. :slight_smile:

In general I *despise* being asked to pick a "username". My email address uniquely identifies me, and that should be good enough. (Yes, I have more than one, but only a couple that are used for the purpose under discussion.)

YMMV!

Hassan Schroeder wrote:

Marnen Laibow-Koser wrote: