Choosing tools (RoR/drupal/other)

Hi! I have an idea for a project that would be based around a community like website. I am currently trying to evaluate different tools for me to build my site with. Though I'm fairly new to developing server side things, I do have some programming experience and a lot of gerenal computer/web know-how, so I know roughly what I'm heading for. I want something that is proven to work for semi-big community sites, that is reasonably easy/quick for me to learn and use, that I can thoroughly brand and theme the way I want, easy to maintain and update for whatever future changes and additions I may want to do to the site, and so on. The website has to be finished early spring 2008, and I have fairly much time to devote to it.

I've been looking at Drupal, which seems nice because it looks like it has a gentle learning curve which may make it more realistic for me to actually finish the project alone. It's also good because most of what I need appears to be available out of the box or through different modules. What I don't like about Drupal though is that it feels like I don't easily have any control over the actual mechanics of my site, because of the layers of interface between me and the code.

Now I'm also looking at Ruby on Rails. It seems to offer a higher level of control, meaning you're not forced to rely on the work of others. Otoh, this might mean a lot of extra work for me?

Let's look at what I need for the website (I recently posted this list (but slightly different) on the Drupal forum as well):