Can't get this Rspec test to pass

Hello,   I'm completely new to Rspec testing and I'm finding it very difficult to mock specific objects.

In this test, I have a before block setup as such:

[code]   before do     setup_controller_for_warden     controller.session[:operation_id] = 1     @operator = Factory :operator     sign_in :operator, @operator                  @persist_herd = Herd.new     @persist_herd.operation_id = 1;     @persist_herd.herd_name = 'Persisted Herd (herd_rations_controller_spec)'     @persist_herd.save!   end

describe "GET new" do     it "assigns a new herd_ration as @herd_ration" do       HerdRation.stub(:new){ mock_herd_ration }       Herd.stub(:find).with(1) { @persistant_herd }              get :new, :herd_id => 1       assigns(:herd_ration).should be(mock_herd_ration)       response.should be_success     end   end

and here's my controller method:

def new     @herd_ration = HerdRation.new     @herd = Herd.find(params[:herd_id])          if @herd       respond_with(@herd_rations, :layout=> !request.xhr?)     else       redirect_to(root_url, :notice => 'No herd selected for ration.')     end   end [/code]

Here's the catch - we have this groovy little plugin that globally enforces a model scope via a session id, in this case: session[:operation_id].

Here's the code for the plugin:

[code] module ApplicationScopeManager

mattr_accessor :global_scope    @@global_scope =

mattr_accessor :local_scope    @@local_scope = {}

def self.included(base)       base.send :extend, ClassMethods    end

def self.setup       yield self    end

module ClassMethods

def method_missing(name, *args, &block)

return acts_as_scope_manager($1, args) if name.to_s =~ /^acts_as_scope_manager_for_(.*)/                    return honors_scope_of($1, args) if name.to_s =~ /^honors_scope_of_(.*)/                    return current_scope_for($1) if name.to_s =~ /^current_scope_for_(.*)/                    super       end