can't get rails gem

Hi, I'm brand new to rails, and I have a mac 10.7 that I bought today. I try the following:

joelrwesley$ sudo gem install rails Password: Building native extensions. This could take a while... ERROR: Error installing rails:   ERROR: Failed to build gem native extension.

/System/Library/Frameworks/Ruby.framework/Versions/1.8/usr/bin/ ruby extconf.rb mkmf.rb can't find header files for ruby at /System/Library/Frameworks/ Ruby.framework/Versions/1.8/usr/lib/ruby/ruby.h

Gem files will remain installed in /Library/Ruby/Gems/1.8/gems/ json-1.6.5 for inspection. Results logged to /Library/Ruby/Gems/1.8/gems/json-1.6.5/ext/json/ext/ parser/gem_make.out joelrwesley$

Anybody have any ideas? Thanks, Joel

Hi, I'm brand new to rails, and I have a mac 10.7 that I bought today. I try the following:

joelrwesley$ sudo gem install rails Password: Building native extensions. This could take a while... ERROR: Error installing rails: ERROR: Failed to build gem native extension.

Have you installed Xcode (or at the very least apple's gve command line tools package)? You'll need that when installing gems with native extensions.

Fred

Thanks Fred. I downloaded the latest Xcode last night, turned the computer off for the night, and tried it again this morning. No go; same message. I'm also supposed to be able to write gcc -v to test the compiler from Xcode, but I'm getting an error on that also. I tried going into Xcode and starting a project, and it seems to be working. Xcode is now being distributed at the App store, instead of off of the disk. I wonder if that has something to do with it? I'm thinking of maybe trying to put it on my hard drive from the disk for the old Leopard from my old machine.

As for Apple's gve command line tools, package, I don't know what that is.

:slight_smile: native mac os’ ruby 1.8 - too old to waste your time if you want to practice in Rails.