Calling an external API as quickly as possible

Hi

I'm a Java developer working with a team that's moving over to Ruby and Ruby on Rails - we're really excited!

We are writing a replacement for a large, java-based, e-commerce website for a client who is based in the United Kingdom. This will be the first web site of its kind written in RoR.

One of the things we need to do is to access various external API's to help us build each web page. We are required to support a number of different text-based APIs (XML, key/value pairs etc etc) via HTTP.

Typically, we will call an API to get some data, let's say a list of Countries, for example. When we receive the data we build a list of Country objects. If we simulate the same thing using ActiveRecord (SELECT * FROM Countries), we find that the task is about 5 times faster.

I am assuming that the difference is that ActiveRecord creates its objects in-line, while the data is arriving and the HTTP method does not start until the entire request is complete.

Can anyone suggest ideas of how we might go about doing this type of in-line processing while reading the HTTP response. I do not want to have this kind of low-level code in every controller, so we could probably do some sort of helper.

I would recommend caching the results. Enduring HTTP request/response cycles for infrequently changed data such as lists of countries is very time-consuming. Another strategy you might examine is dRb. In your worker, hit the Web services periodically for a refresh and from your Rails application make the request to the local dRb instance. If dRb is too big a hammer, then just run a cron job that periodically updates a memcache server.

To extract the code from your controllers, use a before_filter in app/controllers/application.rb and the request to construct your objects will be made before each action is begun.

Still, it seems like a very expensive way to retrieve what seems to be somewhat static data.

Hope this helps.