Best Production Server to Use

I'm sure this question is very subjective, but I'm looking for input and advice. I just purchased a shiny new dedicated server from gate.com and I'm trying to decide what I should use to serve up my rails app: Mongrel, Apache, LiteHttp, other?

The key points I'm concerned about are:

* Speed & Overall performance * Reliability * Ability to deal with high load * Difficulty to configure (virtual hosts, memory allocation, etc) * Maintenance

Please share your experience and opinions. Let me know of any important differences you've seen between the servers.

Since I have a fresh server, I'm looking to start right -- instead of getting ingrained in something I can't easily change later.

Thanks, Jeremy

@Nathan

And I could (should?) do this on a single CPU? I've never done load balancing or clusters before. On a single machine how does that give better performance than one server process?

Thanks!

Sure, but the other main benefit is that your application will be scaleable. When you're ready to buy more servers, the Mongrels could run on a different cluster than nginx.

A mongrel can only handle one rails request at a time. Mean while nginx could very easily be serving static pages (stylesheets images etc...). Even just focussing on the mongrels, they're not going to utilise your server fully, some time is spent doing disk io, some is spent talking to the database etc...

Fred

I'm liking the idea of a mongrel cluster. So if a single mongrel instance can only handle one request at a time, then when you cluster 3 - 4 under nginx does that mean it can only handle 3 - 4 requests at a time, or does nginx take care of handling more?

Thanks.

Litespeed? Extremely easy setup, very fast, dynamic process
allocation. All the hassle just gone. No FCGI to mess up things, no
mongrels, and much much less deployment complexity.

/ Peter

17 mar 2008 kl. 20.13 skrev Mozmonkey:

Mozmonkey wrote: