Beginner Question.

I'm just getting into RoR, coming from a long PHP background. So far I LOVE IT!

I'm hitting a roadblock with updating my mysql database. For simplicities sake, I have 2 tables and here are the relevant columns.

Table Users id name email

Table Issues id createdby assignedto reportedby

In my models I have everything mapped properly I believe.

When I try to update the Issues table

@issue = Issue.find(:id) @issue.update_attributes(params[:issue])

I get an error, "User expected, got String"

So my question is, should I be updating the table a different way? Is there another method I should be using? Thanks for any help you could give a beginner!

It would be (assuming, that there is a column issue)

@issue.update_attributes(:issue => params[:issue]) or @issue.update_attribute(:issue, params[:issue])

I'm just getting into RoR, coming from a long PHP background. So far I LOVE IT!

I'm hitting a roadblock with updating my mysql database. For simplicities sake, I have 2 tables and here are the relevant columns.

Table Users id name email

Table Issues id createdby assignedto reportedby

In my models I have everything mapped properly I believe.

When I try to update the Issues table

I get an error, "User expected, got String"

What's in params[:issue] ? From the error message i'd guess that issue belongs_to :user, and that params[:issue] contains a value for :user. This won't work (as the error message says from the form you'll get a string whereas user= needs an instance of User. The easiest way is usually for the form to submit user_id

Fred

params[:issue] contains the form elements from the form that is being posted. Example is the dropdown that is causing the issues. It's code is as follows:

<select name="issue[assignedto]" id="issue_assignedto"> <%@users.each do |users|%> <option value="<%=users.id%>"<%if(users.id == issue.assignedto.id) %>selected="selected"<%end%>><%=users.name%></option> <%end%> </select></td></tr>