beginner question: database relationships

Hi, I'm new to db/web stuff so I have some basic questions. Basic question: I don't know what to add to my existing scaffolding-generated CRUD.

This project requires "Users" who own many unique "Topics". Each "Topic" will contain a "Blacklist" textfile, several "Rawtext" textfiles and several "Webtext" textfiles. Some string-parsing code will use the "Blacklist" file to process the "Rawtext" file, yielding the processed "Webtext" files. So far I have a database with tables for "Users", "Topics", "Blacklists", "Rawtexts", "Webtexts".

I have used scaffolding to generate basic CRUD functionality for each. I have specified the has_many and belongs_to relationships in /app/models.

The "Topic" table contains user_id:integer and searchstring:string attributes. I have manually created a "Topic" entry corresponding to an existing user_id, and modified my user/show.html.erb to display the user's topics.

So, here's my goal: I want an "intuitive" flow of "create user"->"create user's topics" -> "add blacklist for topic". Right now, my "edit user" view doesn't allow adding topics (topics must be added manually, with a known user_id).

Am I going in the right direction? Is there a normal/default way of editing (adding) a table entry's "children"?

Alexander Farley wrote in post #978434:

So, here's my goal: I want an "intuitive" flow of "create user"->"create user's topics" -> "add blacklist for topic". Right now, my "edit user" view doesn't allow adding topics (topics must be added manually, with a known user_id).

So, you want to create a new user and automatically create a topic for that user? Why? Are you just trying to add some seed data for the user?

If so, you can do:

user = User.new(:email => 'bob@example.com', :hashed_password => '...') user.create_topic(... your topic fields ...)

.. that's assuming you have the fields I expressed above.

When a model belongs to another, you automatically get the create_model method..