Anybody working through "Beginning Ruby on Rails E-Commerce"?

Hi. I'm an experienced Java developer making the jump to Rails, so please forgive the newbieness of this post. I picked up two books initially: the "Agile" book by Dave Thomas and the "E-Commerce" book by Hellsten and Laine. I'm trying to work my way through the "Emporium" sample application in the latter book, and it's been a bit of a frustrating exercise. There's an errata page on the publisher's website that helps to mitigate some of the issues I've had with mistakes in the book, but right now I'm faced with an issue that I'm not able to resolve and there is no mention of it in the errata.

At issue is the following code... class UserNotifier < ActionMailer::Base   @@session = ActionController::Integration::Session.new   .....   @body[:url] = @@session.url_for(.....)

The code describes the code above as "trickery" (page 240), since the url_for method is normally not available inside mailers, as it is an instance method for ActionController controllers. Ok, so far so good. The problem is that when I try to test the app, I get the following error, along with a small stack trace:

uninitialized constant ActionController::Integration C:/ruby/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/activesupport-1.4.2/lib/active_support/ dependencies.rb:263:in `load_missing_constant' C:/ruby/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/activesupport-1.4.2/lib/active_support/ dependencies.rb:452:in `const_missing' #{RAILS_ROOT}/app/models/user_notifier.rb:2 #{RAILS_ROOT}/app/models/user_observer.rb:3:in `after_save' #{RAILS_ROOT}/app/controllers/account_controller.rb:49:in `forgot_password'