Advice for new Project/Startup

I'm currently in the beginning stages of founding an internet startup (who isn't?) and wanted to seek out the communities advice as to finding a good partner. I've developed with RoR some, and, as a long time linux user and advocate, would like to build the company on the foundations and philosophies of open source. However, being in the role of founder, I'm going to be forced to delegate the major managing of the development of the website to someone else, as I'll be spending my time focusing on a number of other tasks.

Does anyone have advice as to where to find a good developer, particularly one in the RoR community? The company would most likely be based out of NYC, and I would prefer the person to be local there. This is my first attempt at a startup, and unfortunately, being young and in an IT position where everyone uses microsoft tools, most of my contacts are not ones that would align to my commitment of an open source shop.

Any advice, tips, or comments from people that may have been in a similar position as myself at some point?

I would say try your contacts first anyway. You need to find someone you trust and believes in what you do. Even if they are M$ advocated (pity, really) they can't ignore how successful open source projects can and are, simply by the numbers. Some of them might be looking to move over to open source or know someone.

I can't speak to the RoR community in NYC but I can say having just moved from Boston to SF, RoR seems to have a stronger following on the West Coast than the East and there seems to be more people skilled in RoR development out here. It's also difficult finding RoR people so if you want someone good, be prepared to pay a little more.