Additional methods in models - how to access them?

Hi!

I'm new in Rails and I'm making my first site using this. I have some problem with methods in models:

I have model Note with one additional method:

class Note < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :pattern   def get_location(location)     find(:conditions => ["location = ?", location])   end end

And when I'm trying to access it through pattern.notes.get_location(1) , it throws an error:

undefined method `get_location' for #<Class:0xb6bc63ec>

What i'm doing wrong?

cheers! Szymon

Hi!

I'm new in Rails and I'm making my first site using this. I have some problem with methods in models:

I have model Note with one additional method:

class Note < ActiveRecord::Base belongs_to :pattern def get_location(location) find(:conditions => ["location = ?", location]) end end

And when I'm trying to access it through pattern.notes.get_location(1) , it throws an error:

undefined method `get_location' for #<Class:0xb6bc63ec>

get_location is an instance method of Note but you're trying to call it on a collection of notes (Because associations are also scopes you can call class methods on them: this just calls the class method with finds etc scoped appropriately, but I'm not sure if that is what you were trying to do).

Fred

Fred

I'm trying to get Note from this Pattern (which has many notes) with location = 1 for example, how I can do it in rails?

simon

But even if I call "Note.get_location(1)", it throws the same error :confused: What i'm doing wrong?

simon

But even if I call "Note.get_location(1)", it throws the same error :confused:

As Frederick says, this is an instance method, you're trying to call it on the class. You should do something like @pattern.notes.first.get_location

I highly recommend you to take a look at the rails guides.

This works:

pattern.notes.first(:conditions => {:location => location})