ActiveRecord::ConnectionNotEstablished

Hello

I am rather new to Ruby and have been following along with the book "Ruby On Rails 3 Tutorial - Learn Ruby by Example - by Michael Hartl". I am currently in Chapter 3 which discusses static pages. In this chapter, I entered the following command into the prompt: "rails generate controller Pages home contact" and everything worked fine. Then the book directs me to http://localhost:3000/pages/home. When I point my browser there, I receive the following error.

ActiveRecord::ConnectionNotEstablished

ActiveRecord::ConnectionNotEstablished Rails.root: /home/ralph/railsprojects/sample_app

Application Trace | Framework Trace | Full Trace

The routes and controller erb don't appear to have any errors. Is this a database related error? Any ideas?

Thanks, DMAT

what's the url for your git repo.... I'll take a look at it....

off the top of my head, it shouldn't be a db issue as there's no db at that point of the tutorial... a quick google did make it sound like a db issue... but i can't tell much unless i can look at the source

I have the exact same problem in chapter 3. I went over everything that I could think can go wrong but wasn't successful.

This is my github directory : https://github.com/justfarnaz/sample_app Really appreciate the help Max.

I am having similar issues regarding ConnectionNotEstablished. Anyone able to resolve this problem? Appreciate any help.

Please send the exact error message.

If you doubt if the database.yml file is correct, you could do this test:

$ cd config

$ irb

001:0> require ‘yaml’

=> true

002:0> d = YAML.load(File.open(‘database.yml’))

=> {“development”=>{“adapter”=>“postgresql”, “encoding”=>“unicode”, …}}

003:0> quit

$ vim database.yml # place an incorrect TAB

$ irb

001:0> require ‘yaml’

=> true

002:0> d = YAML.load(File.open(‘database.yml’))

Psych::SyntaxError: (database.yml): couldn’t parse YAML at line 6 column 0