abstract_class... what exactly does it do

Hi, Does anyone know much about abstract_class? Does it actually prevent instances of the class from being created? Does it disable certain methods? I already know what it's for, but I want to know what setting self.abstract_class=true actually does.

The reason I ask is that I want to use it for a slightly unorthodox purpose. I want a class who's only attributes are its associated objects... and as there are no belongs_to associations, it doesn't need a table. If abstract_class can't do this for me, I'll have to redefine some methods to prevent AR from looking for a table. (Believe me, I have tried to refactor my model structure, and this seems like by far the best option.)

I’m new to all this, but if it doesnt need a table why does it need to be an Active Record?

Ryan Angilly wrote:

I'm new to all this, but if it doesnt need a table why does it need to be an Active Record?

I need access to the has_many association. I guess I could just find all the code associated with has_many, and copy it, but that's not very DRY, and I'd prefer another, cleaner way.

Daniel Waite wrote:

Good question. You can write regular Ruby classes, and those classes can access your Rails models. I do it all the time. You can check out some examples in the Typo or Mephisto Tracs.

So are you saying abstract_class works how I want it to?

An abstract class in the general programming sense is defined as a class which has no instances, but is used to maintain class relationships. But I want to create instances of a class where abstract_class is set to true, and just use that as a convenient way to tell AR that this class has no children.

Thanks for that... the article didn't directly address what I was looking for, but it strongly implies that abstract_class can do what I want. I'll keep going with it, and if it falls over later in development, I'll just have to find another way.