writing a new function in the model problem

If anyone can help with this problem, I would greatly appreciate. In general I am trying to write a new method in one of models (Appointments) that takes a hash of objects and returns formated times that are within the objects and returns these times in an array. Without further ado, here is my current code:

in Controller:   def select     @appt_obj = Appointment.find(:all)     @newArray = Appointment.returnTime(@appt_obj)   end

in Appointments model:   def self.returnTime(array)       times =       @app_obj = array       @app_obj.each do |s|            hold = s.start_time            times << hold       end       return times end

Then in my view I would like to iterate through the @newArray and display the times. I know this is way off, but I think it shows the general logic I am trying to accomplish. I have no experience writing functions in the model, so any advice on how to go about doing this is great. thanks.

I may be missing something here, but wouldn't it be much simpler to just do something like this:

Controller    #Get all the appointments    def select @appt_obj = Appointment.find(:all)    end

View ...    #Display all the start times in the view    @appt_obj.each do |apt|       %>       Time <%= apt.start_time %>      <%      end ...

Your class function (what you are doing in the model) looks like it should work. I wouldn't set @app_obj and just use 'array.each do' instead since @ designates an instance variable and you are using a class function, this may not matter, but if it isn't working, that's the only thing I see wrong with it.

Hope I could be of some help.

I'd strongly recommend you pick up "Ruby for Rails" by David Black. You seem to have a decent grasp of what Rails can do, but need some help with the Ruby language itself. Black's book is one of the most helpful I've found.