Working round 'invalid byte sequence'

I am a very amateur Rubyist who, amongst other things, likes to use a simple Rails app to query my company's MySQL config database. The server I now use to do this has got 1.9.1 and Rails 2.3.3. I've now hit the 'problems' related to 1.9 and string encoding, which means that when Rails try to display, say, E acute characters, it throws an invalid byte sequence, namely ArgumentError (invalid byte sequence in UTF-8):

Given that I only access the MySQL database over a private network and with a read-only account, is there some simple and easy way to suppress this issue? Without being an expert in this area (obviously) I guess that either I can try to "tell" Ruby to treat the MySQL data as an encoding other than UTF-8 (I guess US-ASCII but it could be trial and error to work out what), and/or I could add some rescue code to find (and ignore) bad byte sequences. I've tried to find recipes for both the above, but quickly get lost in the subtleties of it all! Any and all help appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

I'd check with the whoever admins the MySQL DB to find out what character set it's actually using. I think you can then tell the adapter to translate. Best guess is either US ASCII, or (more likely) Windows-1252 pretending to be ASCII.

--Matt Jones

Matt Jones wrote:

this issue? �Without being an expert in this area (obviously) I guess that either I can try to "tell" Ruby to treat the MySQL data as an encoding other than UTF-8 (I guess US-ASCII �but it could be trial and error to work out what), and/or I could add some rescue code to find (and ignore) bad byte sequences. �I've tried to find recipes for both the above, but quickly get lost in the subtleties of it all! �Any and all help appreciated. �Many thanks in advance.