why is my ActiveRecord model's state not saved during unit test?

I'm a rails noob, still working on my first test and seeing strange behavior - the state of the model that is changed during the method being tested is appearing to not be saved. I'm assuming I'm missing something basic here...

My Buzzuser model is listed below. In the migration that adds this table, I identify a column for level.

class Buzzuser < ActiveRecord::Base

def initialize     super     @level = 0   end

def promote     @level += 1     puts "new level = ", @level

end end

Here's the test:

class BuzzuserTest < ActiveSupport::TestCase   fixtures :ranks

def test_promote     bu = Buzzuser.new     bu.promote     assert_equal(1, bu.level, "buzzuser level wasn't incremented")   end end

The output from the test, in the console, prints out (among other stuff):

new level = 1

But when it returns back to the test, the assertion fails. Why?

Thanks

ActiveRecord is cagey about how it stores the contents of db field attributes internally. You'd think messing w/a var called @db_field_name would affect the contents of my_instance.db_field_name, but it doesn't. I don't recall the specifics, but the short of it is--try getting rid of those @ symbols. That will make those instance var accesses into method calls, and those *should* work.

HTH,

-Roy

Thanks for your reply, Roy.

removing the @ symbols produced a different error:

NoMethodError: You have a nil object when you didn't expect it! You might have expected an instance of Array. The error occurred while evaluating nil.+

The line identified was

level += 1

This is very confusing.

Hrm--sorry for the bum steer. This is working here:

class Buzzuser < ActiveRecord::Base     def initialize       super       self.level = 0 unless self.level     end     def promote       self.level += 1
    end   end

I'm not positive why those 'self's are necessary...

[mailto:rubyonrails-talk@googlegroups.com] On Behalf Of Brian