What is the "rails way" to filter an index actions results?

I’m very new to ruby, rails and web dev in general. Been at it for about 5 weeks.

I’ve been building a site and have come up with a kludgy way to accomplish most of what I want but I’m sure it’s not the “rails way” and there are some issues expanding the features so I’d like to know how y’all do it. 

Background: I have 3 models: users, shifttypes, and shifts and am working on a site that manages the shifts for a volunteer organization. The tables and relations are all pretty much working and the site is as well. there are 1200+ shifts from mid dec to mid april and the index page has many many pages that a user would have to sift through to find what they want. It is paginated but I need some filtering capabilities.

I’ve been able to accomplish this by having a few links at the top of the page. The link has basically a hard coded parameter (e.g. “? filterby=current_user”) appened to the route (shifts_path) and in the controller I test for the parameters and if I see this pattern I use a named scope on the shift model and the user then sees only their own shifts. It works well but like I said, it’s kludgy.

I have a couple filters that match this basic patter: unselected shifts, my shifts, all shifts, etc. I want one that shows shifts for a given date and I have that working but the user has to manually type it into the address line themselves unless they want the default (current day). The current model doesn’t use any forms, just links and then params attached to the shifts index action basically.

I’ve googled a good bit and haven’t found anything that really helps – maybe because I am so new but regardless, I just haven’t gotten my head wrapped around it yet.

I’d really appreciate any help I can get on this.

Ideally, I’d like a section at the top of my page where the user can select a date from a drop down, select a user name from a drop down, or some other criteria (checkboxes) to filter the list.