Weird DB Session error, "Mysql::Error: Lost connection to MySQL server during query"

I've discovered something really weird in rails 1.2.3 (It could be fixed in 2.0? but I don't know).

Recently I started getting the error "Mysql::Error: Lost connection to MySQL server during query" in my application. It seemed like it had popped up almost without relation to anything. There was a page in the RoR wiki with possible solutions but none of them had worked (http:// wiki.rubyonrails.org/rails/pages/Mysql+Connection+Problems), it was driving me crazy!

Anyway, one day the error message changed, and turned into something like "data too long for field: sessions.data". Now this message was a bit more obvious what was goin on! I was storing too much in my session! And I hadn't realised that there was a limit to that... Specifically what I was doing was storing my cart in the session, and this was overloading the db field sometimes, but not all the time, and only after I started playing with my site a lot.

I fixed the cart problem by turning it into an active record object, and just storing the id in session. BAM! there were no more DB errors! magic! no more lost connections, nada.

Until... I found another place I was storing objects in session - In my wizards. Sometimes, if I am creating a particularly complex object, I use a 'wizard' to do it. I do this by storing my object in session, and slowly build onto it with each step/page. I'm trying to figure out some way to do this without storing the whole object in session. Any suggestions?

In Ruby on Rails, four options come to mind for storing data between HTTP requests:

* use Rails' session * store the data in the database * store the data on a file on the server * store the data on the client's computer, such as in a JavaScript variable

Why do you want to avoid storing the whole object in the session? Is it slow? Or is it causing errors?

Cheers, Wyatt Greene