Using Migrations to load user data?

@rails Hi,

I’m new to rails, and my dev team wants to load all user content data (not reference data or admin users) via migrations. Is this going to be problematic?

If so, how can I convince them that is a likely mistake? What would be the alternatives?

Thanks,

Bob

@rails Hi,

I'm new to rails, and my dev team wants to load all user content data (not reference data or admin users) via migrations. Is this going to be problematic?

If so, how can I convince them that is a likely mistake? What would be the alternatives?

Use rake db:seed, which runs db/seeds.rb. That is what it is for.

Colin

Hi Colin,

Thanks for your response. I totally agree with you. Do you or anyone else have experience with these kind of data content migrations going bad? Basically, the only argument I can provide the team is that it “smells” bad, the intent of migrations seem to be for data structure, not content (other than reference data or an initial admin user), and all migration documentation/examples only show DDL type statements.

Thanks.

re: Data migrations

There’s a gem for that! (I happen to be its author)

https://github.com/jasonfb/nondestructive_migrations

By separating your schema migrations from data migrations, you can separate the concerns easily. (And, for example, not run your data migrations in a test or QA environment if you so choose)

Also schema migrations necessarily mean you have to restart your app (downtime), and data-only migrations can be run while the app is running.