Using an ActiveRecord class method within an ActionMailer object

This is a little convoluted and I'm new to Rails, so please bear with me...

My application needs to receive both SMS and emails. I have a controller that has a sms_in method, which receives SMS messages via a HTTP POST request from an SMS gateway. That controller then calls the IncomingMessage.process(args) method to go through a number of validations and create the incoming message in the database as well as various other database entries that are required with each incoming message. This works fine.

However, I'm having trouble getting it to work for emails. In my MailProcessor (ActionMailer) receive method, I'm trying to pass similar arguments to the IncomingMessage.process(args) class method. However, for some reason this isn't working...I can't seem to call a class method for an ActiveRecord object from within the ActionMailer object, and I have no idea why!

Any help would be greatly appreciated! -Gavin

This is a little convoluted and I'm new to Rails, so please bear with me...

My application needs to receive both SMS and emails. I have a controller that has a sms_in method, which receives SMS messages via a HTTP POST request from an SMS gateway. That controller then calls the IncomingMessage.process(args) method to go through a number of validations and create the incoming message in the database as well as various other database entries that are required with each incoming message. This works fine.

However, I'm having trouble getting it to work for emails. In my MailProcessor (ActionMailer) receive method, I'm trying to pass similar arguments to the IncomingMessage.process(args) class method. However, for some reason this isn't working...I can't seem to call a class method for an ActiveRecord object from within the ActionMailer object, and I have no idea why!

That should work. Show what you're doing (and describe what you
actually mean by "isn't working")

Fred