Upgrading to webpacker 6.0.0

I decided to give the webpacker 6.0.0 prerelease a try, to get finally rid of python 2.7. I created a new application and then followed the upgrade procedure webpacker/ 6_0_upgrade.md And it did not work.

After a lot of trial+error, I got the idea to put TWO javascript_pack_tag() into the view template, and thereby include “runtime” and “application”. And this now seems to work.

This is a change between 5.2.1 and 6.0.0pre, and it is not mentioned anywhere. I now have read all docs, two times and a third time, and I do not find a hint about what this could be about.

So please, can somebody give me any pointer, links, keyword, whatever where I can read about this scheme, what it is meant to be, and how it is correctly handled?

(Frankly, I am a unix admin, not a javascript developer. If things get explained, I can figure them out - but I am not up-to-date with the fancies.)

1 Like

Next problem: This javascript code:

export default class ClassicEditor extends ClassicEditorBase {}

results in this error message:

TypeError: class constructors must be invoked with 'new'

due to this code (in package.json):

"babel": {
      "presets": [
        "./node_modules/@rails/webpacker/package/babel/preset.js"
      ]
    }

(This did work before the upgrade) Changing the latter code appears to solve the matter:

"babel": {
      "presets": [
        "@babel/preset-env"
      ]
    }

Concerning the javascript_pack_tag() issue, it seems I have mostly figured it out now. There are a couple of gotchas to avoid:

1. The precise version of webpacker 6.0.0 in Gemfile must be the exact same as the version in package.json. The docs currently say to use 6.0.0.pre.2 in Gemfile and 6.0.0-beta.5 in package.json, and this is BOGUS. (But understandable as this all is obviousely work-in-progress.)

2. 6.0.0-pre.2 is OLDER than 6.0.0-beta.5