Updating multiple databases at the same time

Yanni Mac wrote:

I have an application that is load balanced. I have a master database which I update once a day. Then I push the raw mysql files to all other servers so they are the same as the master. This works fine, but there are a few situations where I need all databases to update in real-time. What would be the best way to achieve this in rails?

Here is an example of what I am trying to do. I want to update the name of a product on my website. Here is the controller:

def update_product_name   product = Product.find(params[:id])   product.name = params[:name]   product.save   #Say I want to save this to 3 other databases   #can I do this with activerecord?   #PSUEDO CODE... I know it cant do this   product.save(mysql_host2)   product.save(mysql_host3)   product.save(mysql_host4) end

Any ideas? Alternative ways to do this?   

You could use MySQL's built-in replication support.

Jack Christensen wrote:

Yanni Mac wrote:

I have an application that is load balanced. I have a master database which I update once a day. Then I push the raw mysql files to all other servers so they are the same as the master. This works fine, but there are a few situations where I need all databases to update in real-time. What would be the best way to achieve this in rails?

Here is an example of what I am trying to do. I want to update the name of a product on my website. Here is the controller:

def update_product_name   product = Product.find(params[:id])   product.name = params[:name]   product.save   #Say I want to save this to 3 other databases   #can I do this with activerecord?   #PSUEDO CODE... I know it cant do this   product.save(mysql_host2)   product.save(mysql_host3)   product.save(mysql_host4) end

Any ideas? Alternative ways to do this?   

You could use MySQL's built-in replication support.

What if I want it on other SQL server?

davi