"upcasing!" model attributes

Hi.

A couple of days ago I posted a question about how to simplify the task of converting string values to uppercase when saving a row and with some help I got to the point of writing the following in a before_save method to test the value's contents:

self.attributes.each_pair do |k,v|   puts "Column #{k}: regular value = #{v} - upcase value = #{v.upcase!}" if v.class.name == 'String' end

The problem I am having is that I can use upcase! all I want against 'v' in this case but that will not change the column value, which is what I need to do. I have tried to use self.attribute_for_name(k).upcase! and some other things but I either got syntax errors (method not found, etc.) or what I tried did not work. I am relatively new to RoR and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Pepe

Have you tried explicitly setting v = v.upcase in your before_save callback?

pepe wrote:

self.attributes.each_pair do |k,v|   puts "Column #{k}: regular value = #{v} - upcase value = #{v.upcase!}" if v.class.name == 'String' end

Right. In this case, v is just a local variable of sorts, so it's not going to change the object. You need to do something along the lines of

self.send(k).upcase! if self.send(k).class == String

I just did a quick test in console, and that worked. There might be a better way to do it, though.

Peace, Phillip

before_save :upcase_attributes

private

Upcase any attributes that are strings

def upcase_attributes self.attributes.each_pair do |key, value| self[key] = value.upcase if self[key].is_a? String end end

That’s probably the most appropriate way to do it. Instead of using the methods, I just access the attributes themselves which can be faster.

Also note that I’m not overriding before_save directly, but rather using a method call. This way I can do multiple things before saving.

Hi --