Two tables, clickable row one table to fill other table

Hello all, This one has kept me up at night. I'm kind of new to Ruby on Rails (5 weeks and counting). I have two tables. One table is created by the input of a .csv file.

Imports - imports_id - imports_title - description - manager

The other table is a "projects" table.

Projects - projects_id - project_title - description - manager

Displaying the Imports table I can hover over a row and highlight the individual rows. What I'm trying to accomplish is when I click on a highlighted row, I wish to populate an empty table to the right of the Import table. The table on the right would be results from a search of the "projects" table. Currently, imports_id and projects_id are not the same format, nor are the "titles". I need to search through the "projects" table for similar titles and/or 'id's. I have the two tables on a page and can populate the "Imports" table. I've been doing a lot of reading and it looks like I would use "remote_function" to call a function via ajax.

I know this is a lot to ask but I need help. Thank you for any and all advice.

JohnM

Hang on to your shorts - I did something quite similar. It's very simple, I have two models, each are a table in a different database, but when you get to Rails level, you don't care - it's just two models.

On the main page, I have two divs: patient and searchresults Above the divs, I have a : form_remote_tag :update => "patient", :url => { :action => "search" } I use this to get a string (hint : text_field_tag is your friend)

My controller has, for the action "search", the following:

def search     name = params[:search]     results = GMPatient.filter_by_name(name, params[:page])

render :partial => 'shared/paginated_gm_patients',       :locals => {:patients => results}   end

What is "filter_by_name", you ask? Good question! I use the will-paginate gem. My model has the following: