Trouble with rake db/migrate

I am new to Ruby and RubyOnRails, and am trying to learn textbooks. The specific book that I am referring to at this point in time is "Beginning Ruby on Rails E-Commerce" published by Apress and written by Christian Hellsten and Jarkko Laine. The book uses Ubuntu Linux. I am also using Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper. I have installed MySQL, ruby, gems, rubyonrails as instructed in the book and everything has installed correctly (or so it seems to me). I am upto chapter 2 where the authors show you how to create a simple authors table with first_name and last_name fields using migrations. Here is the migration script contained in a file called 001_create_authors.rb stored in the ~/projects/emporium/db/migrate directory:

class CreateAuthors < ActiveRecord::Migration   def self.up     create_table :authors do |t|       t.column :first_name, :string       t.column :last_name, :string     end   end

def self.down     drop_table :authors   end end

When I try to run it by using the following command: rake db/migrate I get one line output as follows: (in /home/bruparel/projects/emporium) And nothing else. Unlike the book which shows the result of migration script running. I am trying to figure out why nothing is happening. The desired outcome is off-course that a table called authors gets created in the emporium_development database (I am using MySQL as instructed in the book and to keep the things as simple as possible).

Here is the database yaml file:

# MySQL (default setup). Versions 4.1 and 5.0 are recommended.

Are you able to login as emporim/hacked? Does it have the permission to create tables? You must grant privelege to create tables.

Do you see schema_info table? What is the version in that table?