Through Associations

Hi,

I’m a total noob to rails. I’m working my way through my first app and
I desperately need help with through associations in rails.

Task: get number of unread articles.

Database structure:

A. Users has_many :activity has_many :article, :through => :activity

B. Activity belongs_to :user belongs_to :article

C. Articles (user_id,feed_id,is_read) has_many :reading has_many :user, :through => :reading

belongs_to :feed

Any article that is in this table has been read and the “is_read”
field has been set to true.

D. Feeds has_many :article

How do I go about getting the number of unread articles for a given

user and feed?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Best, Farhan

Farhan wrote:

Hi,

I'm a total noob to rails. I'm working my way through my first app and I desperately need help with through associations in rails.   

Through associations can be a bit complex for a beginner. Are you sure you don't want to start with something simpler? Have you worked through the tutorial in AWDWR yet?

Task: get number of unread articles.

Database structure: A. Users has_many :activity has_many :article, :through => :activity

Well, for starters, you should always use plurals with has_many relationships. So, "has_many :activities, has_many :articles, :through => :activities", etc. AWDWR would have taught you this, and many other fundamental concepts.

B. Activity belongs_to :user belongs_to :article   

good. But I'm not sure I understand the purpose of this model. What's an "activity" as it relates to a user and an article?

C. Articles (user_id,feed_id,is_read) has_many :reading has_many :user, :through => :reading belongs_to :feed

Again, ":has_many :readings"

Any article that is in this table has been read and the "is_read" field has been set to true.   

What table? Articles? I think you forgot to post a description of your "Reading" model.

D. Feeds has_many :article

:articles