symlinked dir support in action_view path

Some time ago, I posted a doubt about the difference between (found in action_view/paths.rb)

(Dir.glob("#{@path}/**/*/**") | Dir.glob("#{@path}/**"))

and

Dir.glob("#{@path}/**/*")

No one answered me here neither in ruby-talk list. I've found the differences a few days when trying to submit a patch. I'm new to git and I thought that the test errors already existed before my patch. After I submit, I got a response one test has failed. Then I finally understood what was the difference.

Ruby doesn't follow symlinks in Dir['**/*'] to avoid infinite loop, although it is not documented in the official Ruby documentation.

Actually

(Dir.glob("#{@path}/**/*/**") | Dir.glob("#{@path}/**"))

is the same as

(Dir.glob("#{@path}/**/*/**") | Dir.glob("#{@path}/*")) # removed the last *

This support one level of symlinked directory.

This feature is not documented anywhere and someone could be surprised her symlinked dir is not being searched by Rails.

All this begin when I was trying to understand the Rails action view source code. So I think it should be clearer. I could send a patch removing the extra "*" and adding a comment to explain what that does so that another developer could avoid this headache.

But then, I realized that I don't really understand what is the advantage of supporting one level of symlinked directory and why there is a test to this. Could someone tell me why ActionView needs to support one-level symlinked directories? And don't you think that ActionView path documentation should state this limitation with symlinked directories?

I'm willing to help on this, but I need to think what the core developers think about this.

Rodrigo.

I'm willing to help on this, but I need to think what the core developers think about this.