StatementInvalid error when adding a tagging system to a blog

Hi there, I’m very new to RoR please be kind.

I wasn’t sure where to go but I was hoping I could find help here after days of hair pulling. Stackoverflow was not successful.

I have followed the Official Beginners Guide to ROR and made a blog.

I wanted to take it further and add a tagging system to the blog. Im getting errors and I don’t have enough knowledge of ruby to determine what is causing them. Any thoughts/help would be really appreciated.

So this is the error

ActiveRecord::StatementInvalid in Posts#show Showing /home/nadia/blog/app/views/posts/show.html.erb where line #8 raised:

SQLite3::SQLException: no such column: taggings.post_id: SELECT “tags”.* FROM “tags” INNER JOIN “taggings” ON “tags”.“id” = “taggings”.“tag_id” WHERE “taggings”.“post_id” = ? Extracted source (around line #8):

7Tags:

8<% @post.tags.each do |tag| %>

9<%= link_to tag.name, tag_path(tag) %>

10<% end %>

And this a small chunk of the

post_controller:

def new
 27       @post = Post.new
 28    end
 29    def create
30       @post = Post.new(post_params)
 32         if @post. save
33             redirect_to action: :show, id: @post. id
34          else
 35             render 'new'
 36          end
 37    end
 39    def destroy
40        @post = Post.find(params[:id])
 41        @post. destroy
 43     redirect_to action: : index
44     end

This is my tag_controller

1 class TagsController < ApplicationController
  3     def show
4       @tag = Tag.find(params[:id])
  5 end

It says there is no column post_id in the table taggings. Is it that you do not think it should be looking for that column or is it that you know there should be but think that it does exist?

You have neglected to show us taggings.rb but I presume it contains belongs_to post.

Colin

Oh yes sorry

This is my Taggings.rb

1 class Tagging < ActiveRecord::Base

2 belongs_to :tag

3 belongs_to :posts

4 end