sqlite3 Failed to build gem native extension

hello all, this is driving me crazy, and i have tried everything and looked everywhere and i cannot resolve this problem.

when i do bundle install in a rails app, i get an error "Failed to build gem native extension" during sqlite3. i have included the entire error below. i have rails 3.0.3, ruby 1.8.7, and sqlite3 installed (although i cant see it in gem list). i have OS X 10.5.8, XCode 3.1.4. this is running on a PPC machine. the weird thing is, this just started out of nowhere. i have been learning rails for a few months, and this error just started occurring without me upgrading or installing anywhere. in fact, this runs on a PMG5 which is only used for this. just a few things i have tried from searching the web, the forums, and the mailing groups are upgrading everything (rails, gems, ruby, xcode, sqlite), compiling and installing sqlite, trying to use mysql instead, taking all instances of sqlite out of my gemfile, i think there were a few more...

so here are the errors, and below that is the relevant mkmf.log. thank you to anyone in advance who has a suggestion!

Installing sqlite3-ruby (1.3.2) with native extensions /usr/local/lib/ ruby/site_ruby/1.8/rubygems/installer.rb:483:in `build_extensions': ERROR: Failed to build gem native extension. (Gem::Installer::ExtensionBuildError)

/usr/local/bin/ruby extconf.rb checking for sqlite3.h... yes checking for sqlite3_libversion_number() in -lsqlite3... yes checking for rb_proc_arity()... no checking for sqlite3_initialize()... no sqlite3-ruby only supports sqlite3 versions 3.6.16+, please upgrade! *** extconf.rb failed *** Could not create Makefile due to some reason, probably lack of necessary libraries and/or headers. Check the mkmf.log file for more details. You may need configuration options.