SQLite3 acting very strangely

good evening (and morning, also!) everyone. this is my first attempt at using sqlite3 for a rails app, and so far, not so good

when I try to save a very basic record from the controller, it gives me back an ActiveRecord::StatementInvalid error.

"that doesn't sound very nice"

so I switched the app to mysql and sure enough, it went through without a hitch. unsatisfied, I switched back to sqlite3 and fired up the console

mike@lua:~/Rails/hotspots$ ./script/console   Loading development environment.   >> spot = Hotspot.new :title => "testing", :address => "222 water st"   => #<Hotspot:0xb732af48 @attributes={"title"=>"testing", "notes"=>"NULL", "user_id"=>0, "lat"=>"NULL", "address"=>"222 water st", "long"=>"NULL"}, @new_record=true>   >> spot.save   => true   >>

"???"

and here's the source, right from the controller's mouth:

def create     if session[:user]       spot = Hotspot.new :title => "testing", :address => "222 water st"       spot.save     end   end

and here's what that gives me:

Processing ApiController#create (for 127.0.0.1 at 2007-05-09 23:30:52) [POST]   Session ID: b859a7e645f2c60ddd4747368a677b04   Parameters: {"title"=>"asdf", "action"=>"create", "notes"=>"", "controller"=>"api", "address"=>"asdf", "lat"=>"47.54501765940571", "long"=>"-52.7204704284668"}   User Load (0.000560) SELECT * FROM users WHERE (login = 'mikew' and password = 'test') LIMIT 1   SQL (0.000000) SQLite3::SQLException: SQL logic error or missing database: INSERT INTO hotspots ("title", "notes", "user_id", "address", "lat", "long") VALUES('testing', 'NULL', 0, '222 water st', 'NULL', 'NULL')

ActiveRecord::StatementInvalid (SQLite3::SQLException: SQL logic error or missing database: INSERT INTO hotspots ("title", "notes", "user_id", "address", "lat", "long") VALUES('testing', 'NULL', 0, '222 water st', 'NULL', 'NULL'))

now I can't make any sense of what's going on