Sorting in ruby

I am new in ruby.I want to know how sorting can be done in ruby based on some fields like customer name,location etc.what i meant is i have to sort the table based on some fields.how can i.?Can anybody help me.

I'll assume you're asking about sorting models in Rails? Of course you can, and I'll give you an example.

(But good etiquette on this list (and any other) is to give more details about what you're doing, and what you've tried so far, so that it's evident you've tried something first. Please think about that for next time.)

In any event, here's how you typically select all your Customers sorted by name (I'm assuming you have a model named 'Customer' with an attribute called 'name'):

Customer.find :all, :order => :name # orders by name

Also, if you haven't already, I'd suggest you start with a good Rails primer like Agile Web Development with Rails, or look for the highest- rated Rails books on Amazon. Once you spend a little time with the basics, I think you'll really enjoy using Rails.

Jeff www.softiesonrails.com www.purpleworkshops.com

Note Jeff's way is better, sometimes you will need to use this way as well:

@collection = Model.find(:all) (or whatever) @collection2 = Model.find(:all) or whatever @collection = [@collection, @collection2].flatten

@collection.uniq! #which removes duplicates using the @collection array

@collection.sort! {|a, b| a.name <=> b.name}

This is helpful when you are making a larger collection out of two smaller ones and couldn't get the correct .find statement. But go with Jeff's way if at all possible.