Sorting ActiveRecords by belongs_to fields

Hi folks,

I'm new to Rails, so apologies if this is ignorant.

Suppose I have a User model, and a Friend model which is a many-to-many User-to-User relationship. How might I retrieve an array of a given user's friends, sorted by user name?

I'm retrieving an array of Friends from a Friend model, and using belongs_to to access the User model. Does a find allow me sort by a column on a linked table? I want to retrieve an array of friends and not just users, as there are properties on the relationship that are important to my Friend model.

I'm not even sure that this is correct place to do my sorting, but I think the DB can handle sorting much faster than the application code.

Essentially, I want to do the equivalent of:

SELECT friends.*, users.* FROM friends INNER JOIN users ON users.id = friends.user_id ORDER BY users.name

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks, Chris

I'm new to Rails, so apologies if this is ignorant.

Suppose I have a User model, and a Friend model which is a many-to-many User-to-User relationship. How might I retrieve an array of a given user's friends, sorted by user name?

I'm retrieving an array of Friends from a Friend model, and using belongs_to to access the User model. Does a find allow me sort by a column on a linked table? I want to retrieve an array of friends and not just users, as there are properties on the relationship that are important to my Friend model.

I'm not even sure that this is correct place to do my sorting, but I think the DB can handle sorting much faster than the application code.

Essentially, I want to do the equivalent of:

SELECT friends.*, users.* FROM friends INNER JOIN users ON users.id = friends.user_id ORDER BY users.name

Yes, you can, but beware there are some issues if you try and limit the result... See this bug for both an example of how to do what you want and the problems you might encounter...

http://dev.rubyonrails.org/ticket/5851