sortable table by name instead of ID

Hi!

I'm a RoR beginner, and I have a problem with my "app".

I have a table called " annonces " and a table called " marques ". (It's like "post" and "category", for a blog app)

I'm following the screencast #228 of railscasts, but when I want to sort the "Marque" column, it sort by ID and not by name...

So the question is, how do I do a sortable table column, with multiple table?

If you need some of my code, juste ask what part you want.

Thanks!

Hi!

I'm a RoR beginner, and I have a problem with my "app".

I have a table called " annonces " and a table called " marques ". (It's like "post" and "category", for a blog app)

I'm following the screencast #228 of railscasts, but when I want to sort the "Marque" column, it sort by ID and not by name...

So the question is, how do I do a sortable table column, with multiple table?

Could you clarify if you want this to be sortable in the sense of "drag to sort", in the sense of "click on a header to sort by that attribute", or simply that you want to get the records out in a particular order when you request them in your controller?

If you mean the last of these, then you could do something as simple as:

@marques = Marque.order(:name)

Walter

Hi!

It's more "click on a header to sort by that attribute".

For example, if you click on the name of the column (Marque) this should sort alphabetical ASC and DESC: AUDI - BMW - VOLKSWAGEN / Re-click : VOLKSWAGEN - BMW - AUDI.

Like I said in my 1st post, I'm following this screencast :

You can see on this page a thumbail of the result.

But in my case, it's with multiple table ( Marque, Modele, Energie...)

The screencast work perfectly when everything is in the same table.

But I want to do it with content from other table.

Again, if you need my code, juste ask what you want.

Thanks for your answer. Bye!

Hi!

It's more "click on a header to sort by that attribute".