Soft Validation

Hi,

I’m a new-ish part time rails dev, self taught, so I apologize if this is a question that I should know the answer to. I’ve had no luck finding a way to implement soft validations in rails (i.e. the form will give you a warning that certain fields are not right and an option to go back an correct them or to submit the incorrect information).

We have a demographics form that asks for sensitive information–so we would like to let people know if they simply skipped a question accidentally, but permits them to submit the form without having answered all of the questions should they prefer. In case it matters–we’re only looking at radio buttons and check boxes, and we’re only checking to see if the questions were answered.

The only thing I was able to find was a rubyforge gem abandoned over six years ago.

Does anyone know if there is any way to do this with rails?

Thanks for any help!

Mike

Hi,

I'm a new-ish part time rails dev, self taught, so I apologize if this is a question that I should know the answer to. I've had no luck finding a way to implement soft validations in rails (i.e. the form will give you a warning that certain fields are not right and an option to go back an correct them or to submit the incorrect information).

We have a demographics form that asks for sensitive information--so we would like to let people know if they simply skipped a question accidentally, but permits them to submit the form without having answered all of the questions should they prefer. In case it matters--we're only looking at radio buttons and check boxes, and we're only checking to see if the questions were answered.

The only thing I was able to find was a rubyforge gem abandoned over six years ago.

Does anyone know if there is any way to do this with rails?