Single Table Inheritance questions

I'm a rails noob and I've been playing around with creating an app that will display services provided at various schools.

At first, I had a schools table, then I decided that I wanted an agencies table as well. They share many attributes (address, etc) and differ only in a few (level, e.g., elementary, middle, etc). So I decided I would use organizations as my base. I have a "type" column.

I started by generating a scaffold: Organization Admin.

In my organization model, I added School < Organization and Agency < Organization.

That gives me generic organizations admin stuff, but there's no "type" field in the new organization form.

I tried generating a scaffold for School Admin, but since there's no table for schools, rails didn't like that.

So if I want create a new school entry, how should I go about that?

Thanks!

Hi,

I am fairly much a noob myself here but this is the way I have done it.

I did a script/generate controller for each of my subclasses and copied in the views to the corresponding directories. Then copy in all the methods from the base

class controller to the subclass controllers. Edit all the references from Organisation to school in your School controller and that should do it.

Rails will handle the type column for you, you won’t have to set its value.

Hope that helps,

Keith

Thanks, but I'm still not clear on how I would create a new school in my app. Right now, there's a "new organization" link on the admin page (created by the scaffold command). What do I need to do to make a "new school" and "new agency" link (and have them do the right mojo with the "type" attribute).

Ok, it depends on how you are using scaffold. Do you have scaffold :organisation in your organisation controller or did you run script/generate scaffold organisation?