Ruby on Rails and MS Access

How do I connect an existing or new Access database with Ruby on Rails?

I am new to Ruby on Rails and a tutorial I am going through mentions using MySQL but I don't have MySQL and only work with MS Access.

Is MySQL available for free on the web? Thanks.

MySQL has a free Community Edition (there are licenses, but I believe the only apply if you’re redistributing the database, and your code isn’t open-source).

• Wayne

Thanks. Where can I get the community edition?

I would prefer finding a way to connect ROR with MS Access so that if a web application is built....I can take data from MS Access and put it into ROR or vice versa. Any ideas? Would this be easier with MySQL?

I don’t know if Rails can connect to Access, as I’ve never tried.

MySQL Community Edition: http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/mysql/5.0.html (select the “Download” link under MySQL Community Server)

Hope this helps.

• Wayne

PAZAZ wrote:

Thanks. Where can I get the community edition?

Google is your friend!

And the "MySQL Community Edition" is all you need to serve. The payware version is essentially for when you sell an entire application, like on a CD or an appliance. MySQL is generally free if you just install and serve it.

I would prefer finding a way to connect ROR with MS Access so that if a web application is built....I can take data from MS Access and put it into ROR or vice versa. Any ideas? Would this be easier with MySQL?

Google for [ado activerecord]. Access's database piping layer is called ADO.

1) I googled "ado activerecord" but it says on google that this is the server adapter for MySql.

2) I also have a non-Access question that I am putting here so I don't have to start another thread. I put in the followoing code ("Ruby script/generate model book") into the command line to create a model called book....but I get a RunTime Error. How do I fix this?

Parakash